You are here : Home > LCF Lab > Cryogenics for Fusion Laboratory (LCF)

Cryogenics for Fusion Laboratory (LCF)

Published on 8 October 2021
Presentation
For more than forty years, the Laboratory of Cryogenics for Fusion (LCF) has been developing hydrogen cryo-technologies for large scientific instruments and CEA missions. The LCF's activities are focused on research towards thermonuclear fusion by magnetic confinement, fusion by inertial confinement and high-power lasers.

Fusion by Magnetic Confinement
The LCF has a long expertise in the field of hydrogen pellet injectors used in tokamaks to feed and control thermonuclear fusion reactions. This work is done in the framework of national or international partnerships for the Tore Supra, JET, JT-60SA, ITER, DEMO tokamaks... For this research, the laboratory develops in-situ condensation cells and extrusion sources for the formation of hydrogen pellets at -255°C. Once the pellets are made at cryogenic temperature, they are accelerated by means of gas or centrifugal launchers. Fast optical diagnostics are used to characterize these pellets shots. The laboratory holds to date the record of injection speed of deuterium pellets for a tokamak with repetitive shots at 4.5 km/s.
The pumping of fusion "ashes" is also studied in the laboratory with the development of cryo-mechanical pumping of He from the fusion reaction.

Fusion By Inertial Confinement
The LCF is involved in the Laser MegaJoule (LMJ) project implemented by the CEA in the framework of the "Simulation" program. A characteristic experiment of the LMJ will be the implosion by this powerful laser of a microbead filled with hydrogen, thus making it possible to reach the pressure and temperature conditions necessary to trigger thermonuclear fusion reactions. For these experiments to be feasible, the hydrogen, which is gaseous in its natural state, must be solidified at -255°C inside the cryogenic target and maintained at this temperature to within a thousandth of a degree until the lasers are fired. For this program, the LCF brings its cryogenic expertise to CEA/DAM for all the components of the cryogenic chain necessary for the realization and the regulation of cryogenic targets for inertial fusion.
In parallel, the LCF conducts research in hydrodynamics on inertial confinement through the analysis of bubble explosions of a hydrogen-oxygen mixture.

High-power lasers
The LCF develops solid hydrogen targets at -255°C for plasma acceleration (proton and neutron generation). For this purpose, the laboratory provides cryostats producing micrometric solid hydrogen films by thermomechanical extrusion. These cryostats are used for plasma acceleration experiments on high power lasers such as PALS and ELI Beamlines in Czech Republic, Vulcan in England and ELFIE in France.
In addition to the production of cryogenic targets for high power lasers, the LCF is studying the cryogenic cooling of the amplifiers (Ti_Sa, Yb_YAG) of these high power lasers to improve their performance.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Labo LCF > Laboratoire Cryogénie Fusion (LCF)

Laboratoire Cryogénie Fusion (LCF)

Publié le 4 février 2022
Présentation
Depuis plus de quarante ans, le laboratoire LCF développe la cryo-technologie hydrogène au service des grands instruments scientifiques et des missions CEA. Les activités du LCF sont tournées vers les recherches sur la fusion thermonucléaire par confinement magnétique, la fusion par confinement inertiel et les lasers de forte puissance.

Fusion Par Confinement Magnétique
Le LCF possède une longue expertise dans le domaine des injecteurs de glaçons d’hydrogène utilisé dans les tokamaks pour alimenter et contrôler les réactions de fusion thermonucléaire. Ces travaux se font dans le cadre de partenariats nationaux ou internationaux pour les tokamaks Tore Supra, JET, JT-60SA, ITER, DEMO... Pour ces recherches, le laboratoire développe des cellules de condensation in-situ et des sources d’extrusion pour la formation des glaçons d’hydrogène à -255 °C. Une fois les glaçons réalisés à température cryogénique, ils sont accélérés au moyen de lanceurs à gaz ou centrifuges. Des diagnostics optiques rapides sont utilisés pour caractériser ces tirs de glaçons. Le laboratoire détient à ce jour le record de vitesse d’injection de glaçons de deutérium pour un tokamak avec des tirs répétitifs à 4,5 km/s.
Le pompage des "cendres" de la fusion est également étudié au laboratoire avec le développement du pompage cryo-mécanique de l'He issu de la réaction de fusion.

Fusion Par Confinement Inertiel
En 1996 la France a ratifié le Traité d’interdiction des essais nucléaires. S'étant engagée à ne plus tester les armes de la dissuasion, Elle devait alors Le LCF s'investit dans le projet Laser MégaJoule (LMJ) mis en œuvre par le CEA dans le cadre du programme "Simulation". Une expérience caractéristique du LMJ sera l’implosion par ce puissant laser d’une microbille remplie d’hydrogène permettant ainsi d’atteindre les conditions de pression et température nécessaires au déclenchement des réactions de fusion thermonucléaire. Pour que ces expériences soient réalisables, l’hydrogène, gazeux à l’état naturel, doit être solidifié à -255 °C à l’intérieur de la microbille et maintenu à cette température au millième de degré près jusqu’au moment du tir laser. Pour ce programme, le LCF apporte son expertise cryogénique au CEA/DAM pour tous les composants de la chaine cryogénique nécessaire à la réalisation et la régulation des cibles cryogéniques pour la fusion inertielle.
En parallèle, le LCF mène des recherches en hydrodynamique sur le confinement inertiel au travers de l’analyse d’explosion de bulles d’un mélange hydrogène-oxygène.

Lasers de forte puissance
Le LCF développe des cibles d'hydrogène solide à -265 °C pour l’accélération plasma (génération protons, neutrons). Pour ce faire, le laboratoire a mis au point des cryostats produisant des films d’hydrogène solide micrométriques par extrusion thermomécanique. Ces cryostats sont utilisés pour des expériences d’accélération laser-plasma sur les lasers de forte puissance avec des puissances crête pouvant atteindre le PétaWatt (PALS et ELI Beamlines en République Tchèque, Vulcan en Angleterre, ELFIE en France).
En complément de la production de cibles cryogéniques pour les lasers de forte puissance, le LCF étudie le refroidissement cryogénique des amplificateurs (Ti_Sa, Yb_YAG) de ces lasers de forte puissance afin d’améliorer leurs performances.